Millions of Android Phones Will Soon Stop Working: The End of an Era

Jamshidbek Boynazarov
2 min readOct 5, 2024

I can still remember my first Android phone, bought exactly 6 years ago. It’s hard to believe that much time has passed! The sleek touch functionality felt revolutionary, and I was excited to explore everything it could do. The phone ran on a quirky, charmingly named version of Android: Lollipop.

But as of today, that era has officially come to an end. Google has discontinued Play Service updates for devices running Lollipop, marking the end of support for a system that many of us have fond memories of. According to reports from Android Police, Google’s decision to stop supporting Lollipop ends a decade-long run for the beloved system. Now, users with these older devices are being advised to either upgrade their software or purchase a newer device entirely.

This news hits a little differently for me. While I used to be all about upgrading my devices every one or two years, these days, I’ve been happily using a five-year-old phone that works flawlessly. I don’t feel any urgent need to upgrade it, and honestly, with the leaps in technology over the past few years, I haven’t found a phone that seems significantly better than what I already have.

That said, I understand the inevitability of upgrades. At some point, I’ll likely have to move on to a newer device, just like those…

--

--

Jamshidbek Boynazarov

👋 Hi! I’m a software engineer with a passion for Android development and a curiosity that stretches beyond the boundaries of code. 📱💻